WPC: Symbol

Red-wing Blackbird

Red-winged Blackbird

“Symbolism is uniquely human. We use symbols to represent intangible things like our beliefs and emotions, and to convert the abstract into something understandable. We may also use symbols to simplify and convey information.”

To me, the Red-winged Blackbird is a symbol of spring. I eagerly await the arrival of the males in early March, listening for their unique “Conk-aleee!” territorial call that tells me the long winter is over and warm days will soon follow.

WordPress Photography Challenge: Symbol

 

About Eliza Waters

Gardener, writer, photographer, naturalist
This entry was posted in Field Notes, My Photos and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

35 Responses to WPC: Symbol

  1. cindy knoke says:

    Gosh he’s pretty. We don’t have them here~

  2. Maggie C says:

    Red-winged blackbirds are significant in my family as well. Thanks for the link to the sound; that’s helpful.

  3. Handsome symbol of spring. 🙂

  4. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge-Symbol | WoollyMuses

  5. mk says:

    I’ve seen red-winged blackbirds on rare occasions, and each time I’m excited because I can identify them. Thank goodness their name & markings match up. Thanks for the link to their call. It’s cool to hear them.

  6. I love them. Haven’t seen any this year and I’m not sure why.

    • Eliza Waters says:

      I’ve heard that their winter range (along with bobolinks) is contracting due to habitat loss. They are still a species of least concern, but I think the bobolinks may be on the watch list.

  7. Beautiful Eliza. Amazing bird. 🙂

  8. Jewels says:

    I love the call of the red-winged blackbird. Great shot Eliza!

  9. Robin says:

    Wonderful shot, Eliza! There was a time when I wasn’t sure Red-winged Blackbirds existed. I’d never seen one before I married, and it was my husband who was always trying to point them out to me. We’d be driving down a highway or back road and he’d point and shout, “There’s a red-winged blackbird!” and of course, by the time I looked, we were past it and I didn’t see it. This went on for years until finally we were going slow enough one day (I think it was when we lived in Missouri, which means “years” would have been 17 years) that I finally saw one. After that, they were everywhere. 🙂

  10. arlingwoman says:

    It’s always a treat to see these, even though they seem common. I love the way they swoop over grasses, whether in marshes or fields. Lovely photo!

  11. Oh, this is so great Eliza. As you know, I am a fellow “symbol watcher”. I am always looking for symbols in my life 🙂

  12. I have been feeding a lot of Red winged Blackbirds this year and have gotten some great pictures of them. My African Grey Sasha also mimics their communications and chats with them quite often.

  13. Kathy Sturr says:

    My symbol of spring as well! Love your choice. They are very active at my feeders right now – both male and female – the males displaying their red badges often.

  14. Pingback: Old Volcano | litadoolan

  15. Joanne says:

    We have different birds in Australia, which many of my overseas friends describe as exotic and unusual, but I still enjoy seeing the beautiful birdlife from different countries too. I often wonder how the birds sense the changing season, they are clever little things. 🙂

  16. Robbie says:

    I never see them in my garden but when I bike the mississippi river every morning they are darting all about near the waters edge:-) They are pretty!

    • Eliza Waters says:

      I seldom see them in my yard, but the farm up the road attracts them with the grain that spills via the horses. This photo was taken at the pond atop the hill that feeds our stream.

Comments are closed.